Emmaus Borough Council 2019

Left to Right:  Shane Pepe, Borough Manager; Lee Ann Gilbert, Mayor; Council Member, Shana Baumgartner; Council Vice President, Chris DeFrain; Council President, Brent Labenberg; Council Member, Roy Anders; Council Member, Teri Sorg-McManamon; Council Member John W. Hart; Council Member, Jeff Shubzda

 

Borough Council is the legislative body of the Borough. It is comprised of seven members, each elected at large for four-year overlapping terms. After each general municipal election (i.e. every two years), Borough Council is reorganized and a Council President is selected from among members to preside over Council meetings and other events. In addition, during the biennial organizational meeting, members elect among themselves a chairman and vice-chairman for the following committees: Budget & Finance, Community Relations/Development Committee, Health, Sanitation & Conservation Committee, General Administration Committee, Parks & Recreation, Public Safety, and Public Works. The primary duties of Borough Council include adoption of the annual budget, the establishment of policies for the conduct of Borough affairs, the enactment of ordinances and resolutions for the protection of the public's safety and welfare, and approval of contracts and bids. Furthermore, Council’s responsibilities include the appointment of the Borough Manager and other respective officials, along with members of various municipal boards and commissions.

Position Name Name/Email Address Term Term Expires
Mayor Lee Ann Gilbert                      gilbert@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2022
Council President Brent A. Labenberg                labenberg@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2022
Council Vice President Chris DeFrain                         defrain@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2020
Council Member Roy D.Anders Jr.                    anders@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2022
Council Member Shana L. Baumgarnter           baumgartner@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2022
Council Member John W. Hart                          hart@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2020
Council Member Jeff Shubzda                          shubzda@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2020
Council Member Teri Sorg-McManamon          mcmanamon@borough.emmaus.pa.us 4 years 1/1/2020
Junior Council Member Jonas Hausmann 1 year 1/1/2020