28 South 4th Street, Emmaus, PA 18049 | info@borough.emmaus.pa.us.com | (610) 965-9292


How does the Borough of Emmaus Operate?

Left to Right: Lee Ann Gilbert, Mayor; Council Member, Roy Anders; Council President, Brent Labenberg; Council Vice President, Chris DeFrain; Council Member, John W. Hart; Council Member, Chad Balliet; Council Member, Shana Baumgartner; and Council Member, Teri Sorg-McManamon

Borough Council is the legislative body of the Borough. It is comprised of seven members, each elected at large for four-year overlapping terms. After each general municipal election (i.e. every two years), Borough Council is reorganized and a Council President is selected from among members to preside over Council meetings and other events. During the biennial organizational meeting, members elect among themselves a chairman and vice-chairman for the following committees:

  • Budget and Finance
  • Community Relations, Planning and Development
  • Health, Sanitation and Codes
  • General Administration
  • Parks and Recreation
  • Public Safety
  • Public Works

The primary duties of Borough Council include adoption of the annual budget, the establishment of policies for the conduct of Borough affairs, the enactment of ordinances and resolutions for the protection of the public’s safety and welfare, and approval of contracts and bids. Council is also responsible for the appointment of the Borough Manager and other respective officials, along with members of various municipal boards and commissions.

Comments are closed.

Thank you for your upload